Super Smoothie Bowl

img_4699-1
Now that the weather has started to heat up in Doha, I’ve switched from warming bowls of porridge to smoothie bowls. I prefer my smoothies in a bowl because it stops me from slurping it all up in one go, which can be quite a shock to the system. My theory is that by eating my smoothie one spoon at a time, I give my body some time to digest it slowly. Plus I like decorating my bowls to make them a feast for the eyes as well as my body. It really doesn’t matter what you add to the smoothie so long as you have a good high speed blender, I used my magic bullet and it works just fine!

I like to add a mixture of fruits and vegetables and generally try not to add fruits which have a high glycemic index just to keep my blood sugar levels in check. If you do add banana or mango for example, try to add 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon powder to help stabilise blood sugar spikes.

On another note, I’ll be hosting a group cooking class at the end of this month focusing on healthful breakfasts, click here for more information.

Finally here’s the recipe for my super plant powered smoothie bowl filled with anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, blood cleansing, gut friendly ingredients. This is guaranteed to boost your morning with nourishing, healing goodness!

Ingredients (Serves 2)

Smoothie:

1 fresh young coconut, water and meat
1 inch fresh ginger
1 inch fresh turmeric
1 small beetroot
2 cups frozen raspberries
Zest of 1/2 a lime
Juice of 1 lime

Optional add ins:
2 tablespoons maca powder
2 tablespoons acai powder
2 tablespoons Lucuma powder
1/2 teaspoon spirulina powder

Suggested toppings:
1/2 cup VTH Nutty granola
1 cup dices strawberries
2 teaspoons chia seeds
2 teaspoons hemp seeds
Raisins

Method:

1. Blend the smoothie ingredients, along with the superfood powders if using, in a high speed blender until you have a smooth consistency.
2. Pour into a bowl, and add the toppings.
3. Enjoy the super powerful benefits of this smoothie bowl!

2 thoughts on “Super Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

