5 Minute Cleansing Sprout Salad

IMG_1953

This recipe is inspired by my friend Dan’s father, Mooky, who I mentioned in my post about my travels to London over the summer. He grows a lot of his own vegetables and herbs in his garden and makes a salad very similar to this with his homegrown produce. This version is a bit less intense but I do warn you, it is not for the faint hearted as it includes fresh garlic, chilli, and energy and nutrient rich sprouts, so be prepared for a boost of plant power!

I recently put some seeds in my germinator and a few days later had way more sprouts that I could handle so I thought of a way to utilise them without too much effort as I was feeling a bit lazy. I had a look in the fridge and saw parsley, fennel, jalapeño chilli peppers, cucumber…I was immediately transported back to Mooky’s garden picking fresh herbs and veggies and that’s when I knew I had to try and recreate the amazingly powerful green salad he made for us this summer. You can used whatever veggies and herbs you have at home but the key is to keep the flavours fresh and clean.

Germination and Sprouts

I’ve been the proud owner of a three tiered germinator for the past 4 years now and go through phases of using it. But when I’m on a roll, I absolutely love it because there’s always a quick nutrition rich pick me up at arms length which I can just eat as is or add to salads, soups, noodles etc.

A germinator is basically a fancy sieve which you put organic seeds/beans/grains, and add water to so that the seeds get activated at begin the sprouting process. However, you do not need to own a germinator in oder to sprout your own seeds, all you need are good quality organic seeds/beans/grains, a jar, some cheesecloth to cover the top of the jar and a rubber band, as this beautiful info-graphic by Victor Paiam explains:

Germination

Once you have your seeds, I use these, you need to soak them over night in a bit of water. The next day discard the water and put the seeds in your germinator, fill with filtered drinking water, enough to just cover the seeds then tilt upside down so that it drains out, keeping the seeds moist. Repeat the watering and draining process twice a day until you get some sprouts, this should take anywhere between 2-4 days depending on what you are using.

Sprouts are a great source of B vitamins, protein and antioxidants which are perfect for vegetarians and vegans alike. They also give your body a lot of energy. Image how much energy it takes for one seed/bean/grain to transform into a sprout, well when you eat it, all that energy gets transferred to your body and is very beneficial to your whole system. However be sure to use organic seeds/grains when sprouting as they will not have any chemicals added to them, and please use clean drinkable water too!

IMG_1939

As mentioned above, this recipe is not for the faint hearted as it is extremely strong in flavour, and is very cleansing for your body, so don’t say I didn’t warn you 🙂

Ingredients

1 big handful of sprouts (I used lentil, radish & mung bean sprouts)
2 small cucumbers (organic/pesticide free if possible)
1/2 bulb fennel
1 jalapeño chilli
1 handful fresh parsley
2 cloves garlic
Juice of 1 lime
1 1/2 tablespoon extra virgin cold pressed olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cumin powder
Salt & pepper to taste
Dried chilli flakes, to taste (optional)

IMG_1940

Method:

1. Dice the cucumber, fennel, and jalapeño up quite finely and add to a medium bowl.

2. Roughly chop the parsley, and mince the garlic, add to the bowl.

3. Add the sprouts, lime juice, olive oil, cumin, and a pinch of salt & pepper and combine all the ingredients until everything is coated in the salad dressing. Taste and adjust seasoning if needed, and sprinkle some dried chilli flakes on top if you want an extra kick of flavour.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Cleansing Sprout Salad

Leave a Reply

