Mini Gluten Free Cookies

IMG_8449

These cookies were a result of making lots of almond milk for orders of my weekly specials and not wanting to part with the leftover pulp, after all it’s an excellent source of fibre! So I decided I would dehydrate it on the lowest setting in my oven for 12 hours as I would be left with raw, almond meal. Everything was going to plan, until about 10 hours in, I wanted to heat up my lunch in the oven, so removed it from the oven while I turned up the heat, warmed up my lunch put the pulp back in. About 5 mins later, I started to smell toasty, sweet almonds and realised what I had done! The almond pulp was now golden brown, a couple minutes longer and it would have burnt. So I took it out the oven, let it cool and whizzed it up in the food processor, resulting in a toasted almond meal. I decided to test it out by making cookies, and I’m so glad I did!

Luckily the recipe is quite versatile and can be made with normal almond meal/flour without having to go through the whole ordeal I did.

IMG_8453

Ingredients (makes 20)

1/2 cup almond meal/flour

1/3 cup buckwheat flour or brown rice flour

6 tbs coconut butter or tahini

1 1/2 tbs date syrup or sweetener of choice (honey, maple syrup)

6 tbs cashew milk or 4 tbs almond milk

Optional fillings:

Jam

Dark chocolate pieces (70-85%)

IMG_8454 (1)

Method

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees Celsius, and prepare a parchment lined baking tray.

Mix the almond meal and buckwheat flour in a medium sized bowl. Then add the coconut butter, date syrup, and cashew milk, and combine until you have a cookie dough consistency. If it’s too dry add more milk!

Spoon out roughly 1 teaspoon of dough, roll it into a ball, and place on baking tray. Continue until you run out of dough. Then either gently press down on the dough ball with the back of a fork to flatten leaving a nice imprint. Or use your thumb to gently press down on the dough ball, making a round indent in the centre, and fill with optional filling.

Pop in the oven and bake for 12 mins, turning the baking tray halfway through to brown the cookies evenly. Remove from oven and leave to cool.

Enjoy with a nice cup of herbal tea!

2 thoughts on “Mini Gluten Free Cookies

Leave a Reply

