Pistachio & Rose Amazeballs

IMG_0979

I started doing weekly specials about a month ago, selling the food products I make for catering jobs, or at home. I never imagined I would be selling my amazeballs, cashew milk, banana bread etc, but my friends and clients kept asking so I thought I’d give it a go! And I couldn’t be happier, not only do I get to share my food with more people, which is what I love doing, but I’ve also met such wonderful new people! It has made me realise just how much people in Doha do want good, organic, whole, plant based food.

One thing I’ve sold almost every week and have been playing around with is what I call ‘amazeballs’! They are the perfect little treat to have around as they all filled with pure goodness, no added sugars, fillers, words you can’t read, let alone say, and my husband loves them, which is a good excuse to make them all the time. The different variations I’ve sold so far have been chocolate orange with maca, goji berry with flaxseed , and pistachio & rose with spirulina, which is this weeks’ special inspired by my Iranian background and a little bit, but not really, valentines day.

Once you have the consistency of the base down, which is basically raw nuts, dates, and a superfood (this is optional, but so much better added in) then it’s easy to experiment with flavour combinations etc. If you don’t have all the ingredients, it’s ok, you can sub it for something similar, or leave it out all together. Goji berries can be substituted for cranberries, medjool dates can be substituted for any other soft dates, raw honey can be substituted for date syrup or maple syrup etc, and you don’t have to roll them in anything, they’re also great just on their own.

P.S. I’m not really one for celebrating valentines day, I think that if you love someone, be it your family, friends or your other half, you should shower them with love (and amazeballs) every single day!

IMG_8320

Ingredients (makes approx. 20 pieces)

80 grams raw, unsalted pistachios (peeled)
50 grams goji berries (see notes above for substitutions)
50 grams dried figs
100 grams medjool dates
60 grams unsweetened desiccated coconut (organic, preservative free)
1/4 teaspoon spirulina powder (optional)
1 tablespoon raw honey
1 tablespoon coconut oil
1 1/2 teaspoons rose water

Toppings (optional)
1/2 cup dehydrated rose petals, or dried rose buds
1/2 cup desiccated coconut

IMG_8343IMG_8340 Amazeballs mudra!

Method

Place pistachios in the food processor and pulse until they are crumbly.

Add the rest of the ingredients to the food processor, except for the toppings, and blitz on a medium speed for about 20 seconds then go to high speed for about a minute, until you have an even consistency (this will vary depending on how powerful your food processor is).

Scoop out approximately 1 tablespoon of the mixture at a time, squeeze in your hand, and roll into a ball gently with the palms of your hands.

Prepare the toppings (optional) by using a spice mill, or pestle and mortar, to grate down the rose petals to a similar consistency as the desiccated coconut.

Mix the 1/2 cup of desiccated coconut and the rose in a small bowl, and roll the amazeballs in the mixture. Place in the fridge for 20 minutes (if you can resist) or eat as is! They should keep in the fridge for about 2-3 weeks, but they’ll probably be eaten up way before then!

Enjoy and share with all the people you love in your life!

IMG_8322

If you are based in Doha and are interested in knowing more about my weekly specials, head over to my instagram or facebook page for more info! 

2 thoughts on “Pistachio & Rose Amazeballs

Leave a Reply

