Raw Grape Ice Cream

Image

I’ve had an obsession with frozen grapes since I was a little girl. Growing up in Dubai it would get really hot in the summer and I would usually pop a cup of grapes in the freezer and a couple of hours later I would have a deliciously refreshing snack. Living in Doha reminds me a lot of Dubai back in the day and I guess it triggered a memory of having frozen grapes. So I bought some red grapes, gave them a wash, removed the stems, popped them in a tupperware and put them in the freezer. Since the weather isn’t very hot here yet I completely forgot about them and when I went to get some ice for my drink the other day I saw the grapes sitting there waiting to be eaten or better yet made into something. So I decided to experiment with them as I had quite a big batch and decided to make a dairy free, raw ice “cream” and best of all, without an ice cream maker!

Red grapes are packed with antioxidants, potassium and vitamin K, while cashew nuts are filled with heart healthy mono-saturated fats which help lower cholesterol. Since all these ingredients are raw, your body will be benefiting from all the nutrients this ice cream has to offer.

Ingredients (serves 4)

100g raw cashew nuts
180g frozen red grapes
1/3 cup water
2 tablespoons raw honey or agave syrup

Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until you have a nice smooth mixture.

Pour into a tupperware and place in the freezer.

After about an hour, once the edges of the mixture start to harden slightly, take out of the freezer and whisk vigorously with a fork to break up any ice crystals.

Put it back in the freezer and freeze until firm (at least 4 hours or overnight)

Enjoy you’re deliciously nutritious raw ice cream!

One thought on “Raw Grape Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

