Juice Pulp Gluten Free Muffins

Juice pulp muffin

I posted a video on our Instagram page (@vegetariantreehouse) of me making some juice yesterday morning and a friend posted a comment asking whether I do anything with the left over juice pulp. The answer was yes, I’ve made a number of things with it including hummus inspired dips, soups, veggie burgers (watch this space I have a recipe coming soon), and crackers. Since the pulp has a lot of nutrients and fibre in it it’s a real shame to let it go to waste, so if you don’t have time to make something with it immediately after making your morning juice just store it in the fridge, and it should keep for a couple of days. His question got me thinking about what else I could do with the pulp I had just saved from my morning juice and so I started researching and came across this lovely recipe. I decided to give it a go with the ingredients I had on hand at home, and since I’m packing up the flat at the moment in preparation for the big move to Doha on Friday I improvised a bit.

The pulp I used was from a orange, carrot, apple, ginger, and parsley juice, I sifted through it to get as much of the parsley out as possible. So here is the recipe and I hope you try it out next time you make a juice. If you want to give the muffins a go and don’t have juice pulp just grate some carrot, apple and ginger and leave out the orange and parsley!

Ingredients (makes 12)

2 cups all purpose gluten free flour (I made my own, see recipe below)
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1 tablespoon cinnamon
3/4 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup chopped raisins (or whatever dried fruit you have on hand)
2 tablespoons ground chia seeds
Filtered water
2 cups unsweetened soya milk (or non dairy milk of your choice)
1 teaspoon vanilla (fresh from the pod or extract)
1 1/2 cups juice pulp (or grated fruit)
2 tablespoons date syrup (or sweetener of your choice)

My Improvised Gluten Free Flour Recipe

Blend 2 cups quinoa flakes until it becomes a flour like consistency.
Then add 2 tablespoons coconut flour, and 1 tablespoon arrowroot flour to it.
The End.

So back to the muffin recipe…

Preheat the oven to 175 degrees celsius.
Grease the muffin tins, I would not recommend using muffin cups as I did because the muffins stick to the paper!
Sift the flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon and salt into a large bowl and add the sunflower seeds and raisins.
In a separate bowl mix the chia seeds with about half a cup of hot water, stir well and add the soya milk, date syrup, and vanilla.
Then add the fruit pulp and another half cup of water, and mix well for a couple of minutes.
Pour the wet mixture into the dry mixture and mix together.
Then spoon the batter into the muffin tins, place in the oven and leave to bake for about 45 minutes.
Remove from the oven and leave to cool on a metal rack.
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

